Clothing and Style and Icons

I like to consider myself incredibly fashion forward. However when I really think about it (for more than 5 seconds), I know that I am definitely not. I just like wearing what I feel good in. My go-to outfit is black leggings, a sweatshirt, and nikes. Or a sweater instead of a sweatshirt if it’s, like, fall. If something is not comfortable, I probably won’t do it. That being said… I absolutely love dressing up. The hair, the makeup, the clothing, the shoes, everything about a night out – or a day out doing something other than coffee shop hopping or being with friends, I love. Dressing up makes me feel like I can be anyone I want to be–anyone who would wear the outfit I’m wearing. When looking for something to dress up in on one of these days/nights, I tend to look to some people who I consider fashion legends. For me, it’s fun to have these style icons, even if they dress nothing like me. Almost especially if they dress nothing like me.

I think it’s important, when choosing fashion icons, to look further back than you think necessary because in recent years, people like Kendall Jenner, Gigi and Bella Hadid, and EVEN Harry Styles all draw inspiration from (their stylists who get it from) past icons. I’m not saying that no recent trends are new…I’m just saying they kinda aren’t that new

Try writing up a list of your fashion icons from recent or not so recent history (listen, I have absolutely nothing against you if your all-time favorite fashion icon is Queen Elizabeth). Here are some of mine to get you truly inspired. In no particular order:

Madonna was probably my first ever fashion icon. I heard her music before I knew what she looked like or what she wore. But when I saw what she looked like, I’d dare you to dry to catch me without an arm full of jelly bracelets. Fun fact: Madonna was my first ever concert when I was 10…but that’s another story.

80s-fashion-madonna.jpg

Mick Jagger is another person I heard sing before I knew what he looked like or what he wore. But then I saw what he used to wear and I was like YES. My mom’s not the only person to say “Love” when asked about her feeling toward his 70s getups. Fun fact #2: I saw The Stones in concert also and you can see Mick touching my hand HERE (2:29).

75f901b38fe6e3fc7029c00b4331115f.jpg

Alicia Silverstone as Cher Horowitz. The first time I watched Clueless, I dressed like Cher for about a week in 7th grade. I thought her fancy virtual closet was incredible. Fun fact: I designed my own iPhone app based off of that closet when I was in high school.

5483330b10277_-_mc-clueless-girls.jpg

Liv Tyler in Dazed and Confused. I mean, similar to Cher. But with combat boots. No fun fact about this one. I guess the outfit is a fun fact in itself.

bfffe58e8e065311d1d6a7bf5dc767ee.jpg

Angela Chase from My So-Called Life. She was basically all flannels and mom-jeans and skirts. I also dressed like her for a few weeks while I was binging that show. She even dated Jordan Catalano. It had to have been because of her clothes.

MTE5NDg0MDYyNTg5MDI3ODU1.jpg

Okay, five is enough ancient icons for the moment, just to get you inspired. I’s also like to share a few from now:

Rihanna, styled by Mel Ottenberg (who killed the slip dress trend AND the baby pink trend this year)

IMG_1200.JPG

Willow Smith, styled by Mel Ottenberg (who is cute and perfect always)

IMG_1201.JPG

Bella Hadid, styled by Elizabeth Sulcer (whose workout looks seem effortless, but definitely are not because no ones are)

bella-hadid-street-style-featured-image.jpg

Gigi Hadid, styled by Monica Rose – former Kardashian stylist (for whose wardrobe AND boyfriend I would give up Uber for a whole week!)

3880C9A000000578-0-image-m-96_1474150672152.jpg

Lourdes Leon, (who is Madonna’s daughter so apparently does not need a stylist, see below)

IMG_1205.JPG

It took every ounce of self control I have not to mention Harry Styles in this post. Oh, oops! You’re welcome.

Once, someone said something like, “only dress for yourself because people will admire that about you.” I think I agree. And I think that wearing what you want to is a step you can take toward liking yourself a little more. SO why not kill two birds with one stone? I hate that expression. Maybe I’ll make a post about liking yourself sometime.

Until next time, BYE!

Leave a Reply

