A Beautiful Disaster

I have always been interested in makeup, as you can see here. I would not want to claim to be professional enough to offer a tutorial on the noble art of makeup application. (Actually, I would want to…but this is not that post.) Rather than share my vast knowledge, I muted the sound, and I had my mom, whose look I have previously referred to as Makeup-less Lesbianism, do the voiceover. At this point you may be thinking, “What a beautiful disaster!” You are correct.

I did not let my mom watch the video first. I showed her how to press the red “voice record” button, asked her to comment upon the soundless video she is watching, and click the red button once the video ended. She emerged from seclusion in her closet with the door closed unsure whether her voiceover was satisfactory. But I was blown away by her underground knowledge of makeup application, and I want to share it with the world.

This was an interesting experience for me on a different level, too. Muting myself and letting my mom speak for me made me wary. What does she really know about makeup? Would I be annoyed, feel powerless, if my own voice and knowledge were not heard? All of these emotions, I realized, were valid ways to feel, but letting go of control is an important life exercise–and unlike real life, I could always just press “delete.”

So, please enjoy. A full list of products used is absolutely not included; however, I am completely open to sponsorships! @MAC

Thank you so much for watching and until next time, BYE!

Leave a Reply

